Focus

But the Pharisees said, “He drives out demons by the prince of demons.” Matthew 9:34

This is a before and after.

Before the passage above. Jesus drove out a demon from a mute person. Just as the demon came out of the person, the person spoke. Healing. His mission.

After the Pharisees spoke those words. Jesus went around to all the towns and villages, teaching in their synagogues, proclaiming the gospel of the kingdom, and curing every disease and illness.– Matthew 9:35. Teaching. Preaching. Again, healing. His mission.

This is focus. 

It does not mean there is no opposition to the mission. There was. It does not mean he was not being distracted. I think he was. It does not mean he did not hear those words. Matthew noted them so Jesus may have, too. It does not mean everything will be fine when God sent his Son. He know this. In spite of the opposition, the distractions, the people not believing in him, the disciples turning their backs from him, he continued to walk the way and talk about the Gospel. Jesus fulfilled his mission. 

And this spoke to me. That’s why I’m back writing.

I have oppositions, not other people but myself. I lose sight of the ministry. When nobody was commenting or liking my posts, my passion began to diminish. The call was not to have people comment or like my posts, the call was to write about him and spread the word of God. Just write. No expectations on comments or likes. Just write. 

I have distractions. I thought I was overly occupied with my professional life that I forgot about my missionary life. I replaced my bible reflections with technical articles. I’ve prioritized my personal technical research over my personal search of God. 

Maybe you are in the same road. You lost your focus. Maybe you heard somebody commenting negative about your ministry or work. Maybe health issues in the family is a distraction. Maybe a difficulty in a relationship is pulling you away from your call. 

Oppositions or distractions are here to stay. Jesus had them. So, expect that we will have them. Jesus had focus. Look up to him and pray, he will surely bless us with the same. 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Jesus, Kristyanismo, Matthew, Pamilya, Panginoon, Pilipinas

4 responses to “Focus

  1. marnigillard

    Thanks so much. I too struggle with focus…. oh yes. I find your take on the story and the sharing of your struggle encouraging. Thanks for the wake up call. NONE Of us is alone in this struggle. Reading the word, prayer, journaling (or blogging) helps.

  2. I have been struggling with similar issues. Thank you for this, and for all of your insightful ponderings. I hope we get a chance to chat soon.

Leave a Reply

