Him Alone

“There is need of only one thing. Mary has chosen the better part and it will not be taken from her.” Luke 10:42

I’ve realized I have followed the Lord for the past eighteen years of my life. And for those seventeen years I was in the thick of things actively serving the Lord all by the grace of God.  I organized groups for prayer meetings, guide a group of several men or have a one-to-one talk with a person. I have gone to mission trips to give retreats to start up an outreach or to revive sleeping souls. I trained brothers and sisters to develop teachings and talks for people to transfer what we have learned about God and community relationships.  But for this past one year, I was zero. I have not raised my voice to preach and teach. I have not gone into mission trips. I have not pastored a small group besides my family. And this is what I realized…..

Mary has chosen the better part compared to Martha. She chose to sit in the presence of Jesus rather than prepare a seat for Jesus. She chose to listen to Jesus rather than prepare a sound system for Jesus to be heard. She chose to be with Him. God calls us to be with Him.  I have realized that my satisfaction must lie in Jesus alone and not in the service that I do for Him. He wants me to have that very intimate relationship with Him that I have during the first days after my renewal in the Spirit. That is to go back to my First Love. That is to be in His presence and not wanting anything more. Our call is to seek the Lord of the service and not the service of the Lord.  Our call is to seek the Lord who answers our prayers and not the answers of the Lord to our prayers.  Our call is to worship the King and not His kingdom. He alone is enough.

Leave a comment

Filed under Kristyanismo, Pamilya, Panginoon, Pilipinas

Leave a comment