Theology Questions from my Daughters

I no longer call you slaves, because a slave does not know what his master is doing. I have called you friends, because I have told you everything I have heard from my Father. John 15:15

Since we started to pray the rosary as a family every day and have bible sharing on Saturdays, my daughters have significantly been aware of their Christianity.  Recently, they have been asking me on sort of theological questions like the following:

  • How come God created us?
  • What is God’s purpose for creating us?
  • How do we know God is walking with us?
  • Can you mix science in biblical discussions since science most of the time is not in agreement with the Bible?

In my own capacity as their father, I answered those questions with simplicity up to their level. It is good that my daughters have questions and their questions are addressed to their father.  I hope their questions will lead to their friendship in Jesus.

As children of the Lord, we have our own questions to God:

  • Why did I lose my job?
  • How come I am not getting healed?
  • What is God’s purpose in the death of a loved one?
  • Can you mix up your secular life with your Christian life?

We seldom understand His wisdom on what’s happening in our lives. We might be impatient to wait for His plan to be fully unveiled before our very eyes.

Jesus tells us that we are His friends for He has revealed to us what He has heard from the Father.  We can come to Him to find response to our inquiries.  Sometimes, He can quickly tell us the answer and sometimes we ought to wait or we just need to be more attuned to His presence.

Bottom line is, it is good our questions are addressed to the Father.  And hopefully, our questions lead to a deeper and lasting friendship with Jesus.

Leave a comment

Filed under Kristyanismo, Pamilya, Panginoon, Pilipinas

Leave a comment