Unconditionally Beloved

And a voice came from heaven, “You are my beloved Son; with you I am well pleased.”  Luke 3:22

I came home from work with my elder daughter Praise was tentative to speak with me. I knew there was something wrong with her. Her mother told me that she got 78% in her Math test and she was very worried I would get mad at her. As I heard the news, I instantly said, “It’s OK.” I told her she is far more valuable than her grades for she is my daughter.

Bless, my younger daughter, dropped the digital camera and the camera malfunctioned. I also found some crayon writings on our window which she confessed of doing.  I was talking to her about this as she was teary eyed, I told her she is far more valuable than the window and the camera for she is my daughter.

Jesus is the Father’s beloved Son. Jesus was baptized and the Father affirmed His love for Jesus. Jesus has not cured any sick. He did not make the lame to walk, the deaf to hear, or walk on water. He has not multiplied bread and fishes and fed the hungry. No disciples to follow Jesus, yet the Father confirms Jesus’ value as His Son and just by this truth, the Father is well pleased with Jesus. No accomplishments. No achievements. Still a beloved Son. Unconditionally beloved.

We are all God’s children. Most often, we tend to think or act we need to do something in order to be loved by God. Sometimes, we have the belief that our value lies in what we do or what we have not done.  Whatever wrongdoing or mistake we made in the past will not make the Father love us less. Whatever good or righteous act we have done in the past will not make the Father love us more. We are far more valuable than any of our success and failures. He is our Father and we are His sons and daughters and with that we are unconditionally beloved.

Share

Leave a comment

Filed under Kristyanismo, Pamilya, Panginoon, Pilipinas

Leave a comment