Joint Account

He said to him, ‘My son, you are here with me always; everything I have is yours.” Luke 15:31

Our mother used to keep bank accounts with each of her children as secondary signatories of the account.

The savings I accumulate goes to our joint account. When Christmas comes and I get financial gifts from my godmother, she puts it on the same account. If she thinks that she has some money to spare me, she’ll deposit right away in our account. When I won a quiz bee contest, she gave me prize money which was directly recorded in the account.

Looking at the account when I grew old, all of the funds where mostly saved for I may have deserved them or have worked for them. The joint account has also an expiry. If I reach 18 years old, my mother’s name can be erased since I have come of age, I become the primary owner of the account. But this did not happen, when the eruption of Mount Pinatubo crushed our home, we withdrew all our savings to contribute to building our home again.

The older son in the parable of the prodigal son might have been in the state of shock when his father told him that everything the father has is his. We know that this son toiled and labored for his father, yet his rightful part of the father’s property is now more than what he deserved. The son owns what the father owns. A joint account.

This joint account has no expiration date. This account may have deposits made due to the son’s work. However, the main requirement of the father for the son was to be with him always to have everything he has. The father was not focus on the son’s work for him. He was looking mainly at their relationship. Knowing that his son was near to him was enough.

If you are feeling lacking of something today, the Father has everything you need and everything he has is yours. He is always with us and be with him always. Know that the resource you need is a prayer away. There is a right time for his providence. There is a right amount for his splendor. Whatever you have is from his. Whatever you have from him is for him. Give to him whatever you get from him.

In this joint account, you don’t need to make a deposit to make a withdrawal. Such is the Father’s grace and love.

Leave a comment

Filed under Kristyanismo, Pamilya, Panginoon, Pilipinas

Leave a comment