Hiding Myself

Then the one who had received the one talent came forward and said, ‘Master, I knew you were a demanding person, harvesting where you did not plant and gathering where you did not scatter;so out of fear I went off and buried your talent in the ground. Here it is back.’ Matthew 25:24-25

“Why wear a cap when you have a hair worth showing.”

This was my barber asking me. He noticed I was almost always wearing this baseball cap. He also noted that by putting this on my head, my hair was at some point is being disfigured.

As I looked at the mirror, I think he is right. I have a hair for the world to see. So from that day on, if not really needed I decided not to wear a cap over my hiding my hair.

I also hid something for sometime now– myself.

I made excuses not to write and update this blog. One major thing is that I am new to my work. In that case, I have to focus entirely on this career. I don’t want to get laid off again. I wanted to perform above the expectations. Thus, this ministry has to go to the parking lot. Another reason is I want to give my time to my family. Because I’m spending more time at the office, it’s only right to share some time to my family. And this is only right. However, I’m not so successful in this area. My body may be with them but not my mind and my heart — I’m still thinking what will I do at work in the coming day or next week. Lastly, I thought I was too much of a sinner to write about him. I felt unworthy and I’m not wrong. But his call is to be faithful not be worthy.

Until, God gave me a “thud” through this parable.

Gifts from him should not be buried. Ministry from him should not be hidden. The call to share his word and work does not enter the storage room.

So, here I am. Showing up again.

With his grace by using his gifts, I’m coming out, from hiding myself.

2 Comments

Filed under Kristyanismo, Pamilya, Panginoon, Pilipinas

2 responses to “Hiding Myself

  1. Don’t ever feel that way with us. We are just writers, too and are struggling with those feelings, too.

Leave a comment