Thursday The 13th

Therefore, as the holy Spirit says: “Oh, that today you would hear his voice,…” Hebrews 3:7

This morning I was told by my managers at work that I am being let go from my job. I was fired. Not because of my performance or work related conduct but because of the economic recession impacting the company. The owners decided that reduction in workforce is one significant key for the company to survive in the coming months.

I came home to my wife with the news. We have many plans ahead. We have dreams for our family. On the other hand, we have mortgage to meet. We have bills to pay. We have a family to feed.

We talked and after I prayed intermittently. I think it is human nature where you can’t concentrate on one thing when something like this happens. This is a new experience. In the past, I resigned from companies. This time, in a way, the company resigned from me.

I emailed my siblings and brothers and sisters in community. They replied with consolations and guarantee of support. We called a relative in another state who likewise pledge their support for us. We are encouraged with their messages.

We talked to our daughters about it and of course they were deeply affected. But we have to tell them the situation and our options. They had fears but we told them its okay to have fear but they have to face that with faith. I am amazed on how our daughters have shown their concern amidst all these. I believe we are on the right track in bringing them up.

As I sat to further ponder the events of this day, I realized we have to carefully listen to God in prayer. He is speaking to us intently in this undertaking. He wants to communicate to us something he wants us to learn from or to respond to. He is bringing his word near to our ears for us to know he is in control. Is he directing us further to a new door? Is he calling us to another level? Is he bringing us another opportunity? Bottom line is, his voice is a voice of peace and love.

Any day would be better to hear him speak especially this Thursday the 13th.

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Kristyanismo, Pamilya, Panginoon, Pilipinas

One response to “Thursday The 13th

  1. Pingback: Quick Answer | HEADWIND CANOE

Leave a comment