Lip-Synch

….do not worry about how you are to speak or what you are to say. You will be given at that moment what you are to say.  For it will not be you who speak but the Spirit of your Father speaking through you. Matthew 10:19-20

I was waiting to be called and was just sitting at the back of the classroom.  My heart was pumping triple time. I am very worried and very anxious.  My future wife, a co-staffer in Christ’s Youth in Action (CYA), is teaching this Values Education class where the topic is about Moses and Jesus.  I was there to talk, errr, maybe preach about Moses and Jesus. What can I expect from me? I am an engineering student who has a very bad grammar. I am a pure Pampangueno who is not even good in speaking the Filipino language.  I was young in my relationship with God. And worse is, I do not have an outline in my hands.

Before she called me to take the floor, I rested my case in God. I offered to Him my heart, my mind and my mouth that God make me His vessel, His mouthpiece.

And when I stood up before this class, I spoke English like I never spoke before. I spoke with passion, like I never spoke before. I spoke with fire like I never did before. I spoke as if I have the talk outline embedded in my heart and soul. I spoke as if I was a seasoned speaker of the Word. I shouted, “Jesus is your Moses!” I preached, “Jesus is our way to the promised land!” And I spoke for almost an hour.

As I sat back to my place, I understood that that was not me. I realized it was not possible that I can do or talk like the way I just did. God’s Spirit was speaking through me. I was given the right words to say at the right time. I was doing lip- synch for the rest of the time. It was God who spoke, I just stood.

Up to now, when I am invited or asked to speak about Him, I stand and God speaks. Up to now, I do lip-synch.

Share

Leave a comment

Filed under Kristyanismo, Pamilya, Panginoon, Pilipinas

Leave a comment