Happy Eleventh Anniversary to Us!

… and said, ‘For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh’? So they are no longer two, but one flesh. Therefore, what God has joined together, no human being must separate.” Matthew 19:5-6

Happy Eleventh Anniversary to us!

Yes, it’s our eleventh anniversary tomorrow. It’s been a dozen minus one years we have been together as husband and wife. After one miscarried pregnancy, two blessed daughters, three apartments, one home (hopefully counting to two), transfer of employments, numerous arguments, and life with in-laws, etc., my wife Billie and I are still together. And it’s the one single reason to celebrate – we are still together, by the grace of God. Why not?

She loves traveling. I love staying at home.
She is good at personal relationships. I am for bigger audience.
She likes shopping. I like my old clothes.
She loves exploring. I love the status quo.
She is detailed. I have the wide angle.
She is carefree. I am organized.
She is an English major. I am an engineer.
She is expressive. I am a deadpan.
She is a paragraph. I am a sentence.
She is a woman. I am a man.

Marriage, I believe is like multiplication of one by one to result into one (1 x 1 = 1). If one factor is not whole then you do not have one (0.5 x 1 = 0.5). If one factor is zero then you have none (1 x 0 = 0). Each day each partner must give his whole to make the bond as one. Whole love. Whole commitment. Whole acceptance. Whole understanding. Whole respect. Whole loyalty. And when one partner fails to give his/her whole, the other gives more than his/her whole to his/her partner to make the union as one.

Marriage is a work in progress, we keep on loving and living together to be one. We keep on understanding each other to be one. We keep on accepting your partner’s weakness to be one.

Happy Eleventh Anniversary to us! And Lord, make us one!

Share

3 Comments

Filed under Kristyanismo, Pamilya, Panginoon, Pilipinas

3 responses to “Happy Eleventh Anniversary to Us!

  1. Bong Toscino

    Wow makatouch naman ing sinulat mu para kang ate Billy koy=) Happy Anniversary to one of the best couples I’ve known in my life who continuously nurtures such a beautiful family=) Godbless you more!=)

  2. ebcano

    Salamat Harry and Bong….Pray for us…God bless!

Leave a comment